Preset location

puszczu

New Member
I have minor suggestion
Have You considered moving location of presets from
Code:
%programfiles%\NTLite\Presets
to
Code:
%appdata%\NTLite\Presets
?
%programfiles% location is quite unfortunate, many backup (cloud backup software) exclude %programfiles% from online backup so NTLIte presets are not backed up automatically, in case of windows wipe out You always have to remember to manually backup presets or You just don't care.
1657401489767.png
 

garlin

Moderator
Staff member
NTLite's current security model saves both presets and ISO's as Administrator, presumably to prevent casual tampering.
So those files shouldn't be part of your personal folders.

What you can do is create a junction point to force your backup software to save it:
Code:
mkdir C:\Users\PUSZCZU\AppData\Local\NTLite
mklink /J C:\Users\PUSZCZU\AppData\Local\NTLite\Presets "%ProgramFiles%\NTLite\Presets"
 

puszczu

New Member
fair enough,

Can You explain me one more thing?
Consider the following scenario:
  1. start with clean windows 11 source
  2. use NTLite to apply changes (components, drivers, update, tweaks, post setup, unattended etc...) and build iso (auto save preset is created)
  3. then I want to add some changes, so I open last location, auto saved preset loads
  4. I add one change (e. g. BypassNRO tweak which I forgot to check last time)
  5. I save changes and make another iso
Now when I check auto-saved preset, It contains only the latter changes (only BypassNRO tweak, unattended data are preserved), previous settings are gone. Why this preset is not merged with previous one? Now I open notepad and merge these two files manually to get preset containing all changes. Should it work this way or I'm doing something wrong?
 

garlin

Moderator
Staff member
The auto-save only checkpoints recent edits since the last write to the mounted image or ISO. It's not cumulative.

What users can do is to take a clean image, load the first preset then Load (Append) another preset/auto-save. This stacks your changes together, and you can save the merged preset.

Sometimes you need to perform multiple passes with CU and removals, and for those cases you don't want to combine the presets.
 

puszczu

New Member
Thanks for clarification, good to know its by design.
What users can do is to take a clean image, load the first preset then Load (Append) another preset/auto-save. This stacks your changes together, and you can save the merged preset.
I did not realize loading another preset stack changes...
 
Top