[W7] Files copied to Default user's Startup folder not copying to user

I'm copying a few batch files to the startup folder for the Default user at [MountDir]:\Users\Default\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup

After W7 finishes installing, those files still exist at that location, but do not exist on the user account I had automatically created with the autounattend file.

I use a batch file to transfer over files to the mounted directory and I've not had any issues until now.

I've attached my preset file and my batch file I use for copying files over.
 

Kasual

Well-Known Member
I have no idea on what you're trying to do but you can change "%~dp0" in your paths or set the full path as variable:

set value=root:\folder\subfolder\longpath

and then set your variables:
Set source5="%value%\Public\Desktop"

Don't forget the backslash: \
 
I have no idea on what you're trying to do but you can change "%~dp0" in your paths or set the full path as variable:

set value=root:\folder\subfolder\longpath

and then set your variables:
Set source5="%value%\Public\Desktop"

Don't forget the backslash: \
The script already works as expected. What’s not working as expected is that the files I’ve moved to the default user directory are supposed to copy to the new user’s profile after the post-setup process during install. This process worked previously and I’m trying to figure out why it’s not working anymore.
 
I was doing some winmerge comparisons between my current autounattend and an old autounattend where the copying default user files to new user still works. My theory is that because the user I'm predefining has the same account name as the built-in Administrator account and since the new version of NTLite handles this account creation differently than the old version, instead of creating a brand new user it is instead just activating the built in admin account and using that instead, which would potentially explain why my files in default user aren't being copied over. I will test this theory and post back.

Here are the differences between the autounattend files:

Old version (v1.3.0.4830 of NTLite)
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Deployment" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<RunSynchronous>
<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
<Order>1</Order>
<Path>net user administrator /active:Yes</Path>
<WillReboot>Never</WillReboot>
</RunSynchronousCommand>
</RunSynchronous>
</component>

New version (current version of NTlite as of posting date)
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Deployment" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<RunSynchronous>
<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
<Order>1</Order>
<Path>net user Administrator /active:Yes</Path>
<WillReboot>Never</WillReboot>
</RunSynchronousCommand>
<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
<Order>2</Order>
<Path>net user Administrator /fullname:"Administrator"</Path>
<WillReboot>Never</WillReboot>
</RunSynchronousCommand>

</RunSynchronous>
</component>
 
When I create a new preset and copy the files to the same place, I don't have this problem and the files copy to the default user successfully, which leads me to believe something in the preset or unattend file is the culprit.
 
Last edited:

Kasual

Well-Known Member
My theory is that because the user I'm predefining has the same account name as the built-in Administrator account and since the new version of NTLite handles this account creation differently than the old version, instead of creating a brand new user it is instead just activating the built in admin account and using that instead, which would potentially explain why my files in default user aren't being copied over.

Here are the differences between the autounattend files:

Old version (v1.3.0.4830 of NTLite)
<Path>net user administrator /active:Yes</Path>
New version (current version of NTlite as of posting date)

<Path>net user Administrator /active:Yes</Path>
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
<Order>2</Order>
<Path>net user Administrator /fullname:"Administrator"</Path>
<WillReboot>Never</WillReboot>
</RunSynchronousCommand>
There is no difference because fullname is the screen or display name only, the user's folder and login name are equal.

There are fixes for localized built-in administrator account being enabled, in Windows 7 there is localized only the "fullname" (display/screen name) while in Windows 10 the built-in administrator account is localized and also the "fullname".
 
I went ahead and built 8 different ISOs, each one only removing the components of one category and only removing components from that category that were removed in the preset I've uploaded above. I've confirmed that all ISOs installed with the files being copied to the new users correctly with the exception of the ISO that only had components removed from the System category.

I will be doing more experimental builds in order to identify specifically what component of System is preventing default user files from being copied to new user profiles when removed.

I'll post back when I have more information.
 
I figured it out. Task Scheduler prevents the files being copied over to Startup and prevents startup activities. That info is provided in the description so I guess I should have noticed that.
 
Top