Check for Updates?

kosmo

(Returning back to NTL after not using it for some time. My NTL-built Win 7 desktop still works perfectly but the dynamic duo of M$ & Google have convinced all of the Chrome-based browser builders that they better get in line and stop supporting Win 7 so my browser (Vivaldi) grows increasingly more crippled by the day. But i've forgotten so much since NTL ver 1.7 that i'm, once again, a complete newbie. Have mercy.)

Last week I tried out the current free ver of NTL & loaded my ISO. Looking at Updates I was able to get NTL to check M$ and see what new updates hadn't yet been applied to this ISO. Very cool. But now that NTL is paid for and registered I can't find any such button or menu. Is it me or is this just a "Free" feature? (Which makes no sense at all)

Thanks for your reply.

Ok, I found the problem. And (once again) it's a GUI issue. I was clicking on the "arrowhead" UNDERNEATH the ADD button. Clicking on the ADD button itself offers up a completely different menu - which I find unintuitive.

Followup question:

NTL has retrieved a list of 13 updates that M$ feels that this ISO should have. Of that list of 13 only 3 of those have a check in the box to the left of the update. Does that check mean that those are flagged by M$ as "required" or "crucial" updates or is this Nuhi's recommendation? Or?

Every release version's list is curated by nuhi (if you see a problem, please DM him). The default checked selections are always the most critical updates you should install.

- Preview CU is next month's CU, provided for early testing. You should only pick the normal CU or Preview, but not both.​
- Defender updates are optional, since not everyone keeps Defender​
- OOBE update is optional, mostly to fix random compatibility issues​
- App Installer, UI.Xaml, VC++ UWP Runtime are provided in case you want winget to work for Post-Setup.​

New Updates Issue: