Using an NTLite-modifed WIM with SCCM

AlBundy

Hi all - I'm pretty new to NTLite, not too sure I'm using it as best as I could be, so thought I'd reach out... I work in a fairly large-scale Educational org, and we use SCCM for deploying desktops. Traditionally we've deployed modified versions of Windows that were created by installing a vanilla Windows ISO onto a VM, then making manual modifications, then capturing the resulting image with SCCM as a wim file. This process fell apart when Windows 11 came along with hardware requirements that prevented us installing the ISO on our VMs. It was also just time to move to something a bit more automated.

So far NTLite is working out pretty well, but it is not quite a like-for-like approach. When NTLite is finished processing, I basically just take the resulting install.wim file from the NTLite cache, and import it into SCCM. But there's one particular area where I'm struggling: our old wims used to incorporate a couple of apps: specifically MS Visual C++ Redists for 2015-2022, x86 and x64.

When I saw the "Post-Setup" feature on NTLite, I thought that would be perfect, I could just add the redists there. I assumed these were somehow integrated into the install.wim. However I've had no luck in this regard, and I think I see why now: The Post-Setup process seems to depend upon other files that accompany the install.wim file, right? Like it relies on the presence of directories like "sources\$OEM$\$$\Setup". And because I'm just importing the install.wim into SCCM, these files are not included?

Has anyone else encountered a challenge like this before?

I've got a workaround, we can just install these apps in the SCCM task sequence, and that's ok - it's just a bit of a change of direction for our Org that will is a bit change-averse at times :)

NTLite follows the normal install process (which always existed before SCCM).