What options to disable?

bandrade

Hi all,

I'll try and keep this short and sweet.

I work in a school and want to use NTLite to create a super light Windows 11 image that will not only run better than a standard image, but also not contain anything unnecessary.

Basically, I only need a program installed, an admin account, a user account, and the ability to copy files in Explorer. Would be good to be able to remove Bluetooth and WiFi drivers, too, so I don't have to disable them in the BIOS.

I've been playing around with the various check boxes, disabling stuff, but I fear I might disable something crucial to the normal functioning of Windows.

What advanced options can I remove so that only the functioning requirements are left? The more options, the better, so that the final image is as light as possible.

Thanks in advance :)

I've seen this question countless times over the years, so I thought it might be worth trying to help bridge the gap between newbies and veterans on this topic, by attempting to explain where the mindsets are and why the answers veterans give may not be what people expected to hear.

DIFFICULTY LEVEL
We need to address the most overlooked aspect of computers, which is their complexity. In today's age, mastering computers is no less difficult than becoming a top professional athlete. It would be unrealistic to walk up to an athlete and say, "Make me like you, but in a week." Yet, that's exactly what many computer newbies do.

I understand part of the mentality, because it doesn't require a ton of computer knowledge and skill to be handed an already customized operating system. What often goes unacknowledged though, is that computers are not frozen in time, the same way that an athlete's opponents don't just stand around like a statue and do nothing.